Runners Compete in the Rockies

—By Laura Nelson on 09/16/2012 Teenie KentTeenie Kent Michelle KentTeenie Kent Colorado Springs, Colo.—The men's and women's cross country teams of Oklahoma Panhandle State University competed in the Colorado College Invitational Saturday, Sept. 15, in the beautiful North Monument Valley Park in Colorado Springs.

In the women's 5k meet, nearly 100 contestants crowded the course and once again, the Aggie cross country sisters crossed the finish line within two seconds of each other. Teenie Kent edged Michelle with a time of 27:24, earning the women 45th and 46th respectively. Head coach Victor Esparza said, "Michelle and Teenie push each other and both are extremely competitive." Brittany White toured the course in 29:05 and Korie Ham completed it in 30 minutes flat. Megan Matejovsky turned in a time of 32:27, Julie Cross finished at 33:13 and Emily Vasquez came in at 35:18.

The men ran an 8k course and featured another OPSU sibling duo. Gideon Busienei earned 18th place with a time of 28:16 and the nearest Aggie to him was his brother, Mark Tuwei with a time of 29:48 and in 39th place. Other Aggies completing the race and their times were Eddie Fierro, 32:17; Tyler Stephens, 32:41; Felipe Salinas, 35:01; Clint Horton, 35:04; Chris Capinia, 35:36; and Mike Wiebe, 40:27.

Esparza continued, "Everyone ran well this weekend and I believe that we are improving every day. We're taking good steps to realize our ultimate goal of winning Heartland Conference titles."

The teams take a week off from competition before running at New Mexico Highlands in Las Vegas on Sept. 29.

We Are Panhandle

Image Rotator

Students Earn Alpha Zeta Induction

Nine new members were inducted into Panhandle State’s Alpha Zeta chapter this February. —Photo by Sarah Brady

Image Rotator

Panhandle State Rodeo Takes Manhattan by Storm

Panhandle State’s Wes Cole won the bareback riding title at the first rodeo of the spring season in Manhattan, Kan. —Photo by Dale Hirschman

Image Rotator

Collegiate Shooting Sports Facility to be Used by Students and Public Underway

Panhandle State is preparing for the addition of a Collegiate Shooting Sports Facility targeting the fall of 2018 as the completion date. Student Hannah Hammack is pictured here. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Meet Sankalp Sharma

Panhandle State Agibusiness Instructor Sankalp Sharma —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Kim Tuttle Involved in Miss Teen of America Program at National Level

The MTOA Leadership Team – (left to right) Paige Jensen, State Director; Sunny Hill, President; Kim Tuttle, State Director —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Randi Buchanan: The Iron Woman

Randi Buchanan (right) won the Iron Woman title at the 2017 K-State Iron Woman in Manhattan, Kan. on February 4. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Panhandle State Rodeo Team Top Hand Auction Has Another Successful Year

Bryant Riffe (right) was recognized as the Panhandle State Rodeo Team Sponsor of the Year

Image Rotator

Destyni Trayler: Making A Difference

Panhandle State graduate Destyni Trayler (left) is pictured receiving the NexGen Under 30 award. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Student Profile: Kaylee Carroll

Kaylee Carroll —Photo by Panhandle State Campus Communications

Image Rotator

Equestrians Off to a Strong Start this Spring

The Panhandle State Equestrian team came home with well-deserved ribbons from the Western Show at Texas Tech over the weekend.-Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Faculty Spotlight: Sarah Green

Sarah Green—Photo by Panhandle State Campus Communications

Image Rotator

Staff Highlight: Bobby Jenkins

Bobby Jenkins—Photo by Panhandle State Campus Communications