Tradition of Excellence

Released by OPSU Campus Communications on 07/15/2014 The recent achievements of OPSU students can be seen on banners when driving through Goodwell, Okla. on highway 54. —Photo by Danae MooreThe recent achievements of OPSU students can be seen on banners when driving through Goodwell, Okla. on highway 54. —Photo by Danae Moore

Goodwell, Okla. — When cruising down highway 54 through Goodwell, Okla., some may realize for the first time that Goodwell is home to a four-year regional university called Oklahoma Panhandle State University.

OPSU was created in 1909 offering secondary agricultural education to the Panhandle area. The school is ever growing with new facilities and campus updates over the years. Students from all over the United States and even the world have come and gone, each with their own story to tell about their time at OPSU and each with their own contributions to the tradition of excellence at OPSU.

This year at OPSU has been no different. In June, members from the OPSU Rodeo Team as well as OPSU’s Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) group competed at the national level returning to the panhandle with national titles!

The Oklahoma Panhandle State University Rodeo Team sent nine athletes to the 2014 College National Finals Rodeo in Casper, Wyo. held June 15-21. Orin Larsen and Joe Frost walked away the National Champion Bareback Rider and the National Champion Bull Rider, respectively. Joe Harper finished sixth overall in the saddle bronc riding. As a team, the men of OPSU placed third.

PBL traveled to Nashville, Tenn. for the 2014 PBL National Leadership Conference (NLC) held June 24-27. The group competed in 30 different contests at the event, earning nine top 10 finishes, first place in the open Agribusiness event for Amanda Barr, and the Gold Seal Chapter of Merit. Among the top ten finishes, Eva Dye clinched a national championship in Accounting Principles. The OPSU PBL chapter was designated as a Gold Seal Chapter of Merit in recognition and appreciation of the chapter’s active participation in programs and projects advancing the goals of FBLA-PBL (Future Business Leaders of America- Phi Beta Lambda).

Many different teams, clubs and organizations have been successful at OPSU in its nearly 105 years, but for many students the most vivid memories are those involving the friendly campus life that can be found in Goodwell.

We Are Panhandle

Image Rotator

Students Earn Alpha Zeta Induction

Nine new members were inducted into Panhandle State’s Alpha Zeta chapter this February. —Photo by Sarah Brady

Image Rotator

Panhandle State Rodeo Takes Manhattan by Storm

Panhandle State’s Wes Cole won the bareback riding title at the first rodeo of the spring season in Manhattan, Kan. —Photo by Dale Hirschman

Image Rotator

Collegiate Shooting Sports Facility to be Used by Students and Public Underway

Panhandle State is preparing for the addition of a Collegiate Shooting Sports Facility targeting the fall of 2018 as the completion date. Student Hannah Hammack is pictured here. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Meet Sankalp Sharma

Panhandle State Agibusiness Instructor Sankalp Sharma —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Kim Tuttle Involved in Miss Teen of America Program at National Level

The MTOA Leadership Team – (left to right) Paige Jensen, State Director; Sunny Hill, President; Kim Tuttle, State Director —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Randi Buchanan: The Iron Woman

Randi Buchanan (right) won the Iron Woman title at the 2017 K-State Iron Woman in Manhattan, Kan. on February 4. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Panhandle State Rodeo Team Top Hand Auction Has Another Successful Year

Bryant Riffe (right) was recognized as the Panhandle State Rodeo Team Sponsor of the Year

Image Rotator

Destyni Trayler: Making A Difference

Panhandle State graduate Destyni Trayler (left) is pictured receiving the NexGen Under 30 award. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Student Profile: Kaylee Carroll

Kaylee Carroll —Photo by Panhandle State Campus Communications

Image Rotator

Equestrians Off to a Strong Start this Spring

The Panhandle State Equestrian team came home with well-deserved ribbons from the Western Show at Texas Tech over the weekend.-Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Faculty Spotlight: Sarah Green

Sarah Green—Photo by Panhandle State Campus Communications

Image Rotator

Staff Highlight: Bobby Jenkins

Bobby Jenkins—Photo by Panhandle State Campus Communications