2014 Aggie Hall of Fame Inductees to be Honored in January

By Justine Gaskamp on 08/08/2014 The Aggie Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held January 16, 2015.The Aggie Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held January 16, 2015.

Goodwell, Okla.—Three individuals and one team are set to be inducted into the 2014 class of the Aggie Hall of Fame; Paul Wilcox, Jr., Mike Lee, Joe Piccininni and the 1981 football team will be honored January 16, 2015 at the Hall of Fame Banquet & Induction Ceremony.

This year’s ceremony has been moved from September to January to allow those members coaching in the fall to be in attendance. It will mark the fourth class in the Aggie Hall of Fame which was created in 2011 to recognize the achievements and outstanding performance of athletes from all sports throughout OPSU history.

In an effort to broaden the selection process, the Hall of Fame committee has added an online nomination form to the Aggie Athletics website where fans and alumni can nominate former OPSU student-athletes they feel are worthy of Hall of Fame induction. The automated form can be found under the “Inside Athletics” header on the Hall of Fame page.

Individual biographies will be released on each of the 2014 inductees as the date of the ceremony approaches.

We Are Panhandle

Image Rotator

OPSU Coach Wins Environmental Excellence Award

Aggie Football Head Coach Russell Gaskamp was recognized by the Keep Oklahoma Beautiful organization for Panhandle Football

Image Rotator

Frost Comes Home to Goodwell

Josh Frost competes at the College National Finals Rodeo this past summer. —Photo by Dan Hubbell

Image Rotator

Dr. Grandin Set to Visit OPSU in November

Dr. Temple Grandin will be on campus to speak on animal behavior Nov. 10 at 6 p.m.in the Oscar Williams Field House.-Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Equestrians Prepare for Second Show of the Season

From left Erica Newman, Mika Leinen, Kristin Allen, Hannah Hammack, Kayce Ingram, Kayla Hook and Jesslin Lamont show off their ribbons from the NCTC Western Show in Gainesville, Texas on Oct. 2.—Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Truelove Honored as D2Football and HERO Sports Player of the Week

Aggie QB Shane Truelove adds two more weekly awards for his performance against UTPB last week.—Anyssa Barbosa photo

Image Rotator

A Night of Celebration

The Guymon Alma Folklorica dancers provided special entertainment throughout the evening showcasing dances from various regions in Mexico.—Justine Gaskamp photo

Image Rotator

The Silvey Family Honorees

The Silvey family gathers for a photo around a tree that was planted in their honor outside the football field. The family was named this year

Image Rotator

Panhandle Equestrian Takes Their Show on the Road This Week

The Panhandle State Equestrian Team, seated from left: Kristin Allen, Rachel Wright, Mika Leinen, Erica Newman. Standing from left: Kayla Hook, Hannah Hammack and Kayce Ingram (not pictured, Jesslin Lamont)

Image Rotator

Staff Liaison Committee Spreads Cheer

The Panhandle State Staff Liaison Committee is pictured here from left to right: Bonnie Maille, Amanda Batenhorst, Calandra Rose, and Abby Evans. The group was preparing to spread some cheer with free movie passes to each Panhandle State staff member. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Rodeo Teams Triumph in Colby

Josh Frost won the bull riding and the all-around title at the Colby, Kan. rodeo this past weekend. —Photo by Dale Hirschman