Cook-out to Celebrate OPSU Rodeo

Submitted by OPSU Rodeo Team on 08/18/2014

Goodwell, Okla. — There’s no question why OPSU Rodeo is known for its winning tradition with five team National Championships, over 20 individual National Championships and countless regional team and individual championships. A cook-out honoring the OPSU Rodeo Teams and this year’s achievements will be held on the OPSU campus on Thursday, August 21 at 5 p.m.

This free event will be held in the OPSU Bell Tower Plaza and the public is invited to attend. Hamburgers, chips and cookies will be provided and rodeo team members and coaches will be on hand to sign autographs and meet with the public.

The Men’s Rodeo Team placed third overall at the College National Finals Rodeo held June 15-21 in Casper, Wyo. Orin Larsen clinched the National Champion Bareback Riding title for the second consecutive year. Fellow team member, Joe Frost, walked away the National Champion Bull Rider.

Following the cook-out, an evening of fun will continue as the OPSU Aggie Football Team takes the field for an intra-squad scrimmage. The scrimmage is set to start at 7 p.m. at Carl Wooten Field.

We Are Panhandle

Image Rotator

Science Department Receives Telescope

Panhandle State School of Science, Math, and Nursing recently received a telescope donation from Keith Farrar. The telescope is pictured here with Vance Farrar, Keith’s son. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Education Department Hosts Accreditation Visit

The School of Education hosted an accreditation visit December 4-6 on the OPSU campus. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Truelove Invited to Play in FCS Senior Scout Bowl

Aggie QB Shane Truelove will compete in the 7th Annual FCS Senior Scout Bowl In Myrtle Beach, S.C. this weekend.

Image Rotator

Alum: Seth Jones

Seth Jones —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Jace Kerr Named Heartland Conference Player of the Week

Congratulations to Jace Kerr for being named the Heartland Conference Player of the Week.

Image Rotator

Drama Production a Success

Oklahoma Panhandle State University’s Department of Communications presented a drama production, Waiting for the Hearse, on campus this November. —Photo by Anyssa Barbosa

Image Rotator

Charitable Foundation Invests in Future Teachers

Dean of Education Dr. Stewart (left) is pictured here with Johnnie Davis of Goodwell. Davis is holding a T-Rex skill created by a large-scale 3-D printer donated by an anonymous charitable foundation. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

OPSU Coach Wins Environmental Excellence Award

Aggie Football Head Coach Russell Gaskamp was recognized by the Keep Oklahoma Beautiful organization for Panhandle Football

Image Rotator

Frost Comes Home to Goodwell

Josh Frost competes at the College National Finals Rodeo this past summer. —Photo by Dan Hubbell

Image Rotator

Equestrians Prepare for Second Show of the Season

From left Erica Newman, Mika Leinen, Kristin Allen, Hannah Hammack, Kayce Ingram, Kayla Hook and Jesslin Lamont show off their ribbons from the NCTC Western Show in Gainesville, Texas on Oct. 2.—Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

A Night of Celebration

The Guymon Alma Folklorica dancers provided special entertainment throughout the evening showcasing dances from various regions in Mexico.—Justine Gaskamp photo