Skip to main content
Skip menu links

OPSU Music Department Places Three State Band Members

By Charla Lewis on 04/29/2015 Three of OPSUThree of OPSU

Goodwell, Okla. — Three of OPSU’s concert band members were selected to participate in this year’s Oklahoma Intercollegiate Honor Band during the Oklahoma Music Educators Association’s convention in Tulsa Jan. 21-23.

Jasmine Brown-Jutras (Hermitage, Ark., sophomore), Sandra Guerrero (Rocky Ford, Colo., senior), and Tyler Stephens (Fowler, Colo., senior) represented OPSU during approximately 12 hours of rehearsal stretched out over Wednesday afternoon and evening, and Thursday morning and afternoon before their concert at 3 p.m. that same afternoon. There were 108 students representing 16 universities across the state in the honor band conducted by Eugene Migliaro Corporon, from the University of North Texas.

Stephens, who was a member of last year’s Intercollegiate Honor Band as well, had this to say about his experience, “Last year’s music was great music, but I enjoyed this year’s literature better. My parts were more interesting and I really enjoyed the conductor. He shared a lot about how to play music that’s not written on the page.”

Also representing the university at the convention were OPSU’s collegiate National Association for Music Education (NAfME) members which included Felipe Gonzalez (Hermitage, Ark., sophomore) and David Peebles (Hermitage, Ark., sophomore).

When asked about his experience at the convention, Peebles said, “It was a great experience! I really enjoyed getting advice from experienced teachers. The convention really helps you keep your goals in mind. It reminded me why I want to be a music teacher.” Peebles is working on his music education degree at OPSU.

OPSU’s collegiate chapter of NAfME is under the guidance of Matthew Carey, OPSU Director of Vocal Music, and OPSU’s concert band is under the direction of Charla Lewis.

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Cale Curry

Panhandle State Alumni Cale Curry was recently accepted into GUILDHALL at SMU in Plano, Texas. Curry earned a degree in Computer Information Systems (CIS) this past December from Panhandle State. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Panhandle State Earns Merit Certification as Certified Healthy Campus

Rene Ramon and Calandra Rose, both members of the Panhandle State Wellness Committee, accepted Panhandle State’s Certified Healthy Campus Award at an event on March 1 in Oklahoma City. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Four Aggies Earn Spots on SAC All-Conference Rosters

Image Rotator

Alumni Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The 2018 Alumni Hall of Fame Honorees are Dr. David Bryant and Jim and Sherry Quimby. They will be inducted into the Alumni Ambassador Hall of Fame during the Alumni Weekend set for April 13-14.

Image Rotator

Panhandle State Sends Delegation to OSGA Spring Congress

Pictured left to right: Jack Hudgins, Thomas Casper, Madison Linton, Sean Skipton, Jasmine Brown-Jutras, Jorge Rosas, Autumn Wigley, and Mariah Morigeau —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Jewell Lee Receives SAC Recognition

Image Rotator

Strong Finish at Home-Hosted Crops Judging Contest

Members of the Panhandle State Crops Judging pause for a photo with faculty and administration members following the Regional Crops Judging Contest hosted in Goodwell. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Student Spotlight: Addison Munsch

Panhandle State Sophomore Addison Munsch

Image Rotator

PBL and AITP Host Perfect Pairings

Members of the campus organizations AITP and PBL along with their faculty advisors and President Dr. Tim Faltyn gather for a photo before the second annual Perfect Pairings hosted at the University House. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Student Spotlight: Colter Reust

Panhandle State Senior Colter Reust