Skip to main content
Skip menu links

Tanner Hallford Named an NFF College Player of the Year

By Justine Gaskamp on 06/30/2015 College Player of the Year Tanner Hallford (center) shown outside the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Museum with parents and family.—Courtesy photoCollege Player of the Year Tanner Hallford (center) shown outside the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Museum with parents and family.—Courtesy photo

Oklahoma City, Okla.—Oklahoma Panhandle State University linebacker Tanner Hallford was one of ten Oklahoma college football players honored as a College Player of the Year at the 31st Annual All Sports Scholar Athlete Awards Luncheon on June 16, 2015 at the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Museum.

The luncheon was hosted by the National Football Foundation's Oklahoma Chapter and also included scholarship and award presentations for graduating high school seniors of various sports as well as three coaching awards.

The NFF states that as “Football trains young men in courage, competition and sportsmanship, it also builds physical and moral fiber in an age of luxury and softness; teaching qualities of heart and spirit which complete the educational process of the whole man.” OPSU Head Football Coach Russell Gaskamp is very proud to see Tanner Hallford recognized for his growth and leadership throughout the years.

Coming to OPSU from nearby Dumas, Texas Hallford has proven himself both on and off the field. He has excelled in the classroom each semester, being named to both the Dean’s and President’s Honor Rolls and was inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma, the National College Athlete Honor Society this spring.

A key member of the Aggie Darkside Defense Hallford had a “break-out” season this year as described by Head Coach Russell Gaskamp, “Tanner is a local guy who came in and has shown improvement every year. I am proud of his development and especially proud of his performance this past season.”

Hallford finished his junior season as the team’s leading tackler totaling 84 tackles (42 solo/42 assists), 18 tackles for loss and 7.5 sacks. He was recognized by Beyond Sports Network as a member of the BSN 2014 Division II Football All-Super Region Second Team for Region 4 and helped the Aggie defense earn a top-five national ranking for NCAA Division-II in total defense.

Gaskamp adds, "In addition to his football skills Tanner is a great young man, a strong leader and well respected by his teammates; he is the perfect example of what an OPSU football player should be. I look forward to seeing how he finishes up his senior year.”

Along with Hallford, nine other athletes were recognized as College Players of the Year: Landon Chappell (University of Central Oklahoma), Ty Darlington (University of Oklahoma), Chace Green (Langston), William House (Southern Nazarene), Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State), Justin Schanbacher (Northwestern Oklahoma State), Garrett Stafford (The University of Tulsa), Ty Watkins (Northeastern Oklahoma A&M) and Cole Weber (East Central).

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Panhandle Alumni JD Yates Comes Back to Goodwell

Panhandle State Alumni JD Yates hosted a team roping clinic on campus February 8th and 9th. —Photo by Taylor Jacobson

Image Rotator

Thriving Panhandle Alumni Talks About Inspiring Lifestyle

2011 graduate Jordan Muncy Taton recently was a wrangler and riding double for the western movie Hostiles. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Aggie Equestrians Score Well at Texas Tech Show

The Panhandle State Equestrian Team shows off their collection of ribbons won at the Texas Tech Western Show Feb. 3-4. - Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Saul Jimenez

Saul Jimenez —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Students Selected for Honor Band

Left to right: Luis Morales, Maxine Henderson, Kacie Johnson, Carlie Murley, and Dr. Traficante —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Seven Aggie Athletes Named to SAC All-Academic Teams

Image Rotator

Gordon Named Outstanding New Agronomist

Josh Gordon (right) received the Outstanding New Agronomist award among Crop Specialists at Servi-Tech where he is currently employed. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Staff Association Making a Difference

The Panhandle State Staff Association: (left to right) Rene Ramon, Karina Jauregui, Raelee Olson, Abby Rice, Nikki Stork, Calandra Rose, Rantz Trayler, Tammy Clark, Amber Fesmire, and Bonnie Maille. Not pictured: Emma Montoya.

Image Rotator

PTCI Partnership

PTCI is an outstanding local partner with Panhandle State.

Image Rotator

Rodeo Alumni Continue Winning Tradition

Shade Etbauer won the 2017 Resistol Rookie of the Year in the saddle bronc riding. The Goodwell native won $41,725 his first year as a cardholder, almost $12,000 more than the rest of the field of rookies. —Photo by Shelbie Weeder

Image Rotator

Clement Named to 2017 All-OSN Volleyball Team