Skip to main content
Skip menu links

OPSU Volleyball Celebrates Sixth Straight Year of Academic Success

By Justine Gaskamp on 08/03/2015 Congratulations to the 2014-2015 OPSU Volleyball team for achieving another year of academic excellence. Congratulations to the 2014-2015 OPSU Volleyball team for achieving another year of academic excellence.

Goodwell, Okla.—Once again the Oklahoma Panhandle State University Volleyball team put the “student” in student-athletes as they were recognized for the sixth consecutive year by the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) as one of 752 teams to receive the AVCA Team Academic Award for the 2014-2015 academic year.

The award was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year and honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that display excellence in the classroom by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale throughout the academic year.

"A hearty congratulations to all the volleyball coaches whose teams won the AVCA Team Academic Award," said AVCA Executive Director Kathy DeBoer. "Teams do not succeed in the classroom by accident any more so than they do on the court. The same coach who taught them volleyball skills cared enough about their academic achievement to gather their grades, calculate their GPA, and submit a nomination on their behalf. In doing so, these coaches sent a clear message that classroom success is just as important as volleyball success. All involved should celebrate this award!"


Head coach Mike Stephens intends to uphold a strong academic culture with this year’s team as well saying, “While it is never easy to earn the required 3.3 GPA to receive the AVCA Team Academic Award, we have come to expect it. This year was the closest margin we had to possibly not receiving the award. It will be very hard to replace the graduated players and their GPA but I feel the incomers, especially the JUCO transfers, will contribute greatly to our philosophy of academic excellence.”

NCAA Division II set a new record with 113 schools being honored this year. In addition to OPSU, two other Heartland Conference teams were also recognized; Lubbock Christian and St. Mary's were each named AVCA Team Academic Award winners for 2014-2015. A complete listing of all honorees can be found on the AVCA website.

Congratulations to Coach Stephens and the 2014-2015 Aggie Volleyball Team for continuing the tradition of academic excellence at OPSU.

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Men's Rodeo Wins Consecutive National Championship

The Panhandle State Men's Rodeo team secured the University's second consecutive National Title on Saturday night, June 16th at the CNFR in Casper, Wyo. This championship took the University's tally to seven with previous titles in 1997, 1998, 2000, 2004, 2013, 2017, and now 2018. —Photo by Dan Hubbell

Image Rotator

Staff Spotlight: Deborah Ask

Deborah Ask —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Higgins, Heathington Selected to 2018 Sooner Athletic Conference All-Academic Golf Team

Image Rotator

Faculty Spotlight: Tito Aznar

Tito Aznar —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Baseball, Softball Yield Fourteen Athletes on 2018 SAC All-Academic Team

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Josh Gordon

Josh Gordon —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Jewell Lee Earns All-America and All-Region Honors

Image Rotator

Bolton and Ibarra Named NAIA Softball Scholar-Athletes

Image Rotator

2018-19 Aggie Cheer Team Announced

Image Rotator

Ag Students Recognized at Annual Awards Banquet

Tyler Meyeres (center) was named the Outstanding Agronomy Department student. She is pictured here with Agronomy Department Head Dr. Curtis Bensch (left) and Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs Dr. Julie Dinger (right). —Photo by Taylor Jacobson

Image Rotator

Derek Barton Signs on with Panhandle State as “Voice of the Aggies”

Image Rotator

Sarah Brady Named J.R.P. Sewell Award Winner

Sarah Brady, a double major in Agriculture Education and Elementary Education, was named the J.R.P. Sewell award winner at the Panhandle State Commencement Ceremony on May 10th. The award was established in 1949 in memory of the late J.R.P. Sewell. —Photo by Danae Moore