Skip to main content
Skip menu links

Top Finishes for AITP

Released by OPSU Campus Communications on 04/26/2016 The OPSU AITP team recently attended the AITP National Collegiate Conference and Career Fair. —Courtesy photoThe OPSU AITP team recently attended the AITP National Collegiate Conference and Career Fair. —Courtesy photo

Goodwell, Okla. — OPSU Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) club members traveled to Chicago for the 2016 AITP National Collegiate Conference and Career Fair April 7-10.

Students attending the conference included: Axel Anchondo of Guymon, Okla.; William Asmussen of Guymon, Okla.; Cale Curry of Gruver, Texas; Daniel Hernandez of Morse, Texas; Martin Jurado of Spearman, Texas; Madilyn Rider of Guymon, Okla.; Cole Tolbert of Santa Fe, N.M.; Derrick Williams of District Heights, Md.; and Omar Zarate of Guymon, Okla. Faculty sponsors included Steve Martin and Vicki Pasque.

It was a very busy conference with the students competing in the following contests:
Office Solutions - Axel Anchondo, Cale Curry and Martin Jurado
Systems Analysis & Design - William Asmussen and Omar Zarate, Derrick Williams and Daniel Hernandez
PC Troubleshooting - Martin Jurado, Madilyn Rider, Omar Zarate, William Asmussen, Cale Curry
Database – Cole Tolbert and Derrick Williams, Axel Anchando and Daniel Hernandez
Mobile Application Development - Cale Curry
Network Design – William Asmussen and Omar Zarate, Daniel Hernandez and Derrick Williams
Enterprise Systems – Axel Anchando
Visual Developer - Cole Tolbert and Cale Curry
Security – Madilyn Rider, Derrick Williams, Daniel Hernandez, Axel Anchondo, William Asmussen, Omar Zarate
Java Developer - Martin Jurado and Cole Tolbert

The students represented OPSU well. In the Database competition there were 69 teams. Recognition was given to first, second, and third places as well as five honorable mentions. Derrick Williams and Cole Tolbert received an honorable mention award.

In the Security contest, there were 86 teams competing in the qualifying round. The top 10 students from the qualifying round move on to the final round. Daniel Hernandez was in third place in the qualifying round and finished with an honorable mention in the final round.

Martin and Pasque were both very proud of the student’s performances and pleased each student was so well prepared for each contest.

Pasque said, “The students felt like coming out of the contests, they can compete in the job world.”

Not only did the students get the opportunity to compete in contests, attend information sessions, and browse the career fair, they also got to experience life in a big city specifically the travel involved in getting from one place to another by train and bus which opened the eyes of many of the students.

Martin said, “It’s a business conference, so part of what we are doing is training you for business experiences.”

Hernandez added the travel was one thing that especially stood out to him about the conference and he feels better prepared for future business traveling because of it. Hernandez commented this is the fourth time he has attended an AITP conference and one of the best.

Congratulations to the OPSU AITP team!

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Cale Curry

Panhandle State Alumni Cale Curry was recently accepted into GUILDHALL at SMU in Plano, Texas. Curry earned a degree in Computer Information Systems (CIS) this past December from Panhandle State. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Panhandle State Earns Merit Certification as Certified Healthy Campus

Rene Ramon and Calandra Rose, both members of the Panhandle State Wellness Committee, accepted Panhandle State’s Certified Healthy Campus Award at an event on March 1 in Oklahoma City. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Four Aggies Earn Spots on SAC All-Conference Rosters

Image Rotator

Alumni Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The 2018 Alumni Hall of Fame Honorees are Dr. David Bryant and Jim and Sherry Quimby. They will be inducted into the Alumni Ambassador Hall of Fame during the Alumni Weekend set for April 13-14.

Image Rotator

Panhandle State Sends Delegation to OSGA Spring Congress

Pictured left to right: Jack Hudgins, Thomas Casper, Madison Linton, Sean Skipton, Jasmine Brown-Jutras, Jorge Rosas, Autumn Wigley, and Mariah Morigeau —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Jewell Lee Receives SAC Recognition

Image Rotator

Strong Finish at Home-Hosted Crops Judging Contest

Members of the Panhandle State Crops Judging pause for a photo with faculty and administration members following the Regional Crops Judging Contest hosted in Goodwell. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Student Spotlight: Addison Munsch

Panhandle State Sophomore Addison Munsch

Image Rotator

PBL and AITP Host Perfect Pairings

Members of the campus organizations AITP and PBL along with their faculty advisors and President Dr. Tim Faltyn gather for a photo before the second annual Perfect Pairings hosted at the University House. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Student Spotlight: Colter Reust

Panhandle State Senior Colter Reust