Skip to main content
Skip menu links

Crops Judging Continues Successful Tradition

Released by OPSU Campus Communications on 04/26/2016 Members of the OPSU Crops Judging Team traveled to the national crops judging contest in Crookston, Minn. Left to right: Trevor Johnson, Tyler Meyeres, Danielle Orosco, Chanda Reynolds, Josh Gordon, and Brandon Vaverka. —Courtesy photo Members of the OPSU Crops Judging Team traveled to the national crops judging contest in Crookston, Minn. Left to right: Trevor Johnson, Tyler Meyeres, Danielle Orosco, Chanda Reynolds, Josh Gordon, and Brandon Vaverka. —Courtesy photo

Goodwell, Okla. — They are no strangers to success and this year proved to be no different for the OPSU Crops Judging Team as they followed up on a second place finish at the national judging contest last year.

Coach Curtis Bensch, OPSU Agronomy Instructor, led the team to an impressive top five finish at the 2016 North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA) Crops Judging Contest in a season that saw huge improvements from start to finish for the team members.

The crops judging competition is an intensive examination of students’ agronomic skills and knowledge designed around the Certified Crop Adviser (CCA) program of the American Society of Agronomy (ASA). The four-part contest is made up of a math test, general knowledge test, plant and seed identification, and lab practical.

The team certainly puts in the miles traveling as they started the competition season off in February at a regional contest held at Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. The team finished seventh overall and came away with several goals for the remainder of the contests.

In preparation for the upcoming contests, the students participated in two mock competitions against West Texas A&M (WTAMU). The group traveled to WTAMU in Canyon, Texas for one practice session as well as hosting the WTAMU team in Goodwell for another.

March brought with it a trip to Manhattan, Kan. and a contest at Kansas State University where it was evident the students’ hard work was paying off as they finished fourth overall.

The NACTA contest was held April 16 at the University of Minnesota- Crookston in Crookston, Minn. The four-man team made up of Brandon Vaverka of North Newton, Kan.; Josh Gordon of Yuma, Colo.; Chanda Reynolds of Clarendon, Texas; and Trevor Johnson of La Junta, Colo. earned a fifth place finish at the 13-team contest. Danielle Orosco of Ulysses, Kan. and Tyler Meyeres of Vilas, Colo. traveled with the team as alternates. The team finished third overall in Plant and Seed Identification and third overall in Lab Practicum.

Dr. Bensch felt the team “made tremendous improvements” and was extremely proud that they met the goals they had set for the national contest. The competition was tight with less than 50 points out of a possible 2,400 separating the third, fourth and fifth place teams.

Thanks goes out to the team’s generous supporters including: Crop Production Services, Dekalb Seeds, Bayer Crop Science, Syngenta, Monsanto, Agrium Wholesale, Sportzone and a special thanks to Brandon Tripp, Brent Gordon and Bruce Postovit.

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Men's Rodeo Wins Consecutive National Championship

The Panhandle State Men's Rodeo team secured the University's second consecutive National Title on Saturday night, June 16th at the CNFR in Casper, Wyo. This championship took the University's tally to seven with previous titles in 1997, 1998, 2000, 2004, 2013, 2017, and now 2018. —Photo by Dan Hubbell

Image Rotator

Staff Spotlight: Deborah Ask

Deborah Ask —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Higgins, Heathington Selected to 2018 Sooner Athletic Conference All-Academic Golf Team

Image Rotator

Faculty Spotlight: Tito Aznar

Tito Aznar —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Baseball, Softball Yield Fourteen Athletes on 2018 SAC All-Academic Team

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Josh Gordon

Josh Gordon —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Jewell Lee Earns All-America and All-Region Honors

Image Rotator

Bolton and Ibarra Named NAIA Softball Scholar-Athletes

Image Rotator

2018-19 Aggie Cheer Team Announced

Image Rotator

Ag Students Recognized at Annual Awards Banquet

Tyler Meyeres (center) was named the Outstanding Agronomy Department student. She is pictured here with Agronomy Department Head Dr. Curtis Bensch (left) and Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs Dr. Julie Dinger (right). —Photo by Taylor Jacobson

Image Rotator

Derek Barton Signs on with Panhandle State as “Voice of the Aggies”

Image Rotator

Sarah Brady Named J.R.P. Sewell Award Winner

Sarah Brady, a double major in Agriculture Education and Elementary Education, was named the J.R.P. Sewell award winner at the Panhandle State Commencement Ceremony on May 10th. The award was established in 1949 in memory of the late J.R.P. Sewell. —Photo by Danae Moore