Learning Express Library at McKee Library

Released by Panhandle State Campus Communications on 04/03/2017

Goodwell, Okla. — Among the many information resources available at the Oklahoma Panhandle State University McKee Library are the electronic databases. These databases range from several types of information, ranging from an international card catalog to periodical indexes and specialized encyclopedias.

However, one electronic database is unique to our electronic resources collection. That database resource is Learning Express Library. It is unique in that it provides access to several practice tests. These students are helpful to students developing basic skills such as math, reading, science, grammar and writing skills for the beginning college student that is struggling. There are also practice GED tests, so that a future student may obtain high school equivalency and enter college.

Learning Express Library is also in helping the student in achieving their academic and career goals. It includes preparatory tests for graduate school such as GRE and GMAT. Additional tests include preparatory testing for various careers including civil service, firefighting, law enforcement, EMT, and air traffic control. It also includes preparatory testing for the U. S. citizenship. Learning Express Library provides access to all of these test and several others.

The Mckee Library acquired this database in an excellent example of interdepartmental cooperation. At first, the School of Education had acquired Learning Express Library to assist their students in preparation for teacher certification exams. However, Dr. Wayne Stewart, Dean of Education, realized that many other students could benefit from this resource. Dr. Stewart contacted Library Director Tony Hardman and Services and Electronic Resources Librarian Elaina Stewart to see about the McKee Library taking over Learning Express Library and making it available to more patrons. Thanks to their efforts, Learning Express Library is accessible on a twenty-four hour seven day a week basis.

We Are Panhandle

Image Rotator

Staff Highlight: Abby Rice

Abby Rice —Photo Courtesy Panhandle State Campus Communications

Image Rotator

Athletes Honored at Chi Alpha Sigma Banquet

The 2017 class of inductees and graduating seniors for Chi Alpha Sigma joined with University President Dr. Tim Faltyn (back right).—Sarah Brady photo

Image Rotator

Aggie Football Families Recognized at Main Street Oklahoma Event

From left: Head Coach Russell Gaskamp, and players Braylon Chandler, Eddie Thomas and Nate Leota are joined by Rep. Casey Murdock at the 2017 Main Street Oklahoma Awards Banquet. —Justine Gaskamp photo

Image Rotator

A Night of Celebration for Aggie Athletics

Panhandle State alumnus and Aggie Hall of Fame inductee Mario Mendoza of Turpin, Okla. served as the guest speaker at the 2017 Aggie Athletic Banquet.—Sarah Brady photo

Image Rotator

Bolton and Heathington Receive All-Conference Honors

Brooklyne Bolton (DP) and Madison Heathington (C) earned spots on the 2017 All-Heartland Conference Second Team for Softball.

Image Rotator

Oklahoma State A&M Board of Regents Visits Campus

Panhandle State students joined faculty and staff members for dinner at Hunny’s.

Image Rotator

PBL Continues Legacy

Panhandle State PBL had 10 students qualify for nationals at the recent State Leadership Conference. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Etbauer Named Central Plains Region Coach of the Year

Ben Johnsrud competes in the steer wrestling at the Fort Hays State University Rodeo as Josh Frost (left) hazes for Johnsrud. Frost is riding Robert Etbauer’s horse, Rambo, who was named Central Plains Region Men’s Team Horse of the Year for the fifth time. —Photo by Dale Hirschman

Image Rotator

Panhandle State Association of Alumni and Friends Inducts Hall of Fame Ambassadors

Alumni Hall of Fame Inductees from left to right: Jerry and Jill Olson and Jessica Lofland. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Third Place National Finish for Panhandle State AITP

From left to right: Cole Tolbert, Martin Jurado, Grant Sparkman, Brian Martinez, Elias Pitterle, Madilyn Rider, Chance Hayden, Travis Pitterle, Jorge Rosas, Allston Hadley, Ricardo Quezadaponce, Kim Tuttle. —Courtesy Photo