Skip to main content
Skip menu links

Rodeo Team Brings the Heat

Submitted by Panhandle State Rodeo on 04/10/2017 Mary Small had two solid goat tying runs at the SWOSU rodeo. —Photo by Dale HirschmanMary Small had two solid goat tying runs at the SWOSU rodeo. —Photo by Dale Hirschman

Weatherford, Okla. — The Oklahoma Panhandle State University Rodeo team was on fire this past weekend at the Southwestern Oklahoma State University college rodeo in Weatherford. The Aggies claimed four individual event titles as well as the women’s all-around title and the men’s team title. The Aggie women finished in second place. With only two rodeos left in the season, the men’s team is sitting in first place and the women’s team is sitting in second place in the region.

Leading the way for the Aggies was senior Randi Buchanan. Buchanan had a solid weekend qualifying for the short round in all her events; breakaway roping, barrel racing, goat tying, and team roping. This feat helped her capture the women’s all-around title as well. Buchanan won the short round of the breakaway with a 2.6 second run and she won the short round of the barrel racing with a time of 17.53 seconds to land in second in both events. She had some tough luck in the short round in the goat tying and the team roping. Joining Buchanan in the goat tying was fellow senior Mary Small. Small made two solid runs in the goat tying and was 17.8 seconds on two head. Junior Melanie Roman laid down two solid runs in the barrel racing and earned fifth place points in the short round.

Panhandle State cowboys captured event titles in all three of the rough stock events. Junior Will Martin won the long round, the short round, and the average of the bareback riding with a combined score of 146 points on two head. Martin was followed closely by sophomore Dylan Riggins who was 129 points on two head to finish in second. Senior Ty Pellam also made the short round in the bareback riding, but missed his horse out in the short round. In the saddle bronc riding, junior Jake Finlay won the long round, the short round, and the average with a combined score of 160 points on two head. Sophomore Taylor Tupper was just behind splitting second and third. Tupper was 135 points on two head. Junior Cody Ballard and freshman Scott Davis also qualified for the short round in the saddle bronc riding, but came down a little early. Junior Laramie Mosley was the lone cowboy to cover both of the rank bulls brought by Buetler and Son’s Rodeo Company. Mosley was 159 points on two head to claim the title. Mosley was joined by Cody Ballard in the short round. Ballard won the long round with an 81-point ride, but didn’t quite make the eight second whistle in the short round.

For the second weekend in a row, brother’s Ben and Nathan Johnsrud have dominated the team roping. The duo claimed their second straight team roping title. The Johnsrud brothers were 14.6 seconds on two head to walk away as the team roping champs.

The team will have Easter weekend off from rodeoing, however they will be hosting a bull riding school instructed by Joe Frost. Check the team’s facebook page for more information. The team will hit the road to Fort Hays State University on April 21st-23rd and will finish out the season here at home April 27th-29th.

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Staff Spotlight: Sue Etbauer

Sue Etbauer —Photo Courtesy Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Alumni Introduces Monday Munch

The Panhandle State Association of Alumni and Friends is connecting current students with Alumni with the introduction of Monday Munch. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Preparing the Leaders of Tomorrow

The Fall 2017 interns are: Left to right, front row: Dr. Wu, Sydni Yates, Amber Hall Lorenzen, Kelli Winters, Haley Bonilla, Andreanna Wray, Sarah Brady, and Delilah Henderson. Left to right, back row: Brenda Rivera Romero, Taryn Nelson, Rylee Abert, Abigail Reinick, and Quinten Mirabal. Not pictured: Dakota Moon Dodge and Kristina Simpson Ybarra. —Courtesy Photo

Image Rotator

Rodeo Looks to Continue Success

Jake Finlay celebrates at the CNFR this summer. The Panhandle State Rodeo Team looks to collect more championships as they kick off the season this weekend at Colby, Kan. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Dominick Bell Named CSFL Defensive Player of the Week

Image Rotator

Oklahoma Panhandle State University Announces Largest Freshman Class in University History

Students are shown taking notes and studying together. Panhandle State saw a 38% increase in this year's freshman class, making it the largest freshman class in university history. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Panhandle State PBL Awarded National March of Dimes Grant

Panhandle State PBL is making plans for another exciting Purp Out this year. Some group members are pictured here during last year’s Purp Out at the Chili Cook-off. —Photo by Sage Kinsey

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Hector Cobos Leon

Hector Cobos —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Faculty and Staff Set for New Semester

It’s smiles all around at the Back-to-School breakfast this past Thursday. —Photos by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Aggie Volleyball: Set for Success

Head Coach Matt Heffner sees great things on the horizon for Panhandle State Volleyball this season.—Justine Gaskamp photo

Image Rotator

Student Today, Leader of Tomorrow

MaKenze Twyman, a senior Agbusiness and Animal Science major, got the chance this past summer to share about her time at Panhandle State with the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. —Courtesy photos