Skip to main content
Skip menu links

Coach Bill Berry Selected by AARP Oklahoma Indian Elders Honors

By Alyssa Fox on 09/19/2017 Panhandle State Assistant Softball Coach Bill Berry will receive AARP Oklahoma Indian Elders Honors at a banquet in Oklahoma City on Oct. 3.Panhandle State Assistant Softball Coach Bill Berry will receive AARP Oklahoma Indian Elders Honors at a banquet in Oklahoma City on Oct. 3.

Goodwell, Okla.—Panhandle State is pleased to announce the honoring of Assistant Softball Coach Bill Berry by the AARP Oklahoma Indian Elders. As an honoree, AARP Oklahoma recognizes Berry with this prestigious award as an outstanding Native American Elder making an inspirational and powerful difference in his community and Indian Country.

Prior to his coaching term at Panhandle State, Berry coached high school softball in the state of Oklahoma for eighteen seasons and twenty all state-selections. He has accrued 448 wins and reached the state softball tournament eight times and amassed a number of regional and district championships. Berry was also an assistant coach with the ASA 18U Gold Tulsa Eagles, reaching the national tournament five times and placing ninth overall out of sixty-four teams in 2003. He has also been an invited clinician for the University of Oklahoma, Baylor University, and the University of Monroe softball.

Berry has been granted a number of impressive Oklahoma High School Association awards from 2000 to 2012, including: American Legion Baseball Coach of the Year, All-State Fast Pitch Coach of the Year, All-State West Baseball Coach, All-State West Slow-Pitch Coach of the Year. Berry was also awarded the National Native American Softball Coach of the Year by the Arizona Diamondbacks in 2013. In 2016, Berry was inducted into the Oklahoma High School Fast Pitch Coaches Hall of Fame and was selected as the Native American All-State Games Fast Pitch South Coach.

Berry holds remarkable status as an Oklahoma softball coach, reflective of his years of significant achievements, service and commitment, and Panhandle State is proud to have him as part of the Aggies coaching staff. Family, friends and colleagues of Coach Berry are welcome to attend his induction ceremony at the Ninth-Annual AARP Oklahoma Indian Elder Honors banquet on Tuesday, Oct. 3, from 4:45-8:30 p.m. The medallion presentation ceremony will take place at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City.

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Staff Association Making a Difference

The Panhandle State Staff Association: (left to right) Rene Ramon, Karina Jauregui, Raelee Olson, Abby Rice, Nikki Stork, Calandra Rose, Rantz Trayler, Tammy Clark, Amber Fesmire, and Bonnie Maille. Not pictured: Emma Montoya.

Image Rotator

PTCI Partnership

PTCI is an outstanding local partner with Panhandle State.

Image Rotator

Rodeo Alumni Continue Winning Tradition

Shade Etbauer won the 2017 Resistol Rookie of the Year in the saddle bronc riding. The Goodwell native won $41,725 his first year as a cardholder, almost $12,000 more than the rest of the field of rookies. —Photo by Shelbie Weeder

Image Rotator

Clement Named to 2017 All-OSN Volleyball Team

Image Rotator

Regier and Dearmin Dominate for SAC Victory over Texas Wesleyan

Junior Monti Regier led the Aggie women's basketball team with 22 points in their first SAC victory of the season over Texas Wesleyan.-Rylee Higgins photo

Image Rotator

Student Spotlight: Sarah Brady

Sarah Brady —Photo Courtesy Campus Communications

Image Rotator

Centennial Theatre Success with Nobody Cries in This Play

The cast members of Nobody Cries in This Play take a bow after one of the three successful performances in Centennial Theatre. —Photo by Maxine Henderson

Image Rotator

Faculty Spotlight: Dr. Beverly Meyer

Dr. Beverly Meyer —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Professor David Miller Student Lounge Dedicated

Dr. Blanton, Dr. Dinger, Davin Winger, Dr. Faltyn, Lester Miller and Rose Miller pause for a photo at the David Miller Student Lounge. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Staff Spotlight: Laura Duran

Laura Duran —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Bryant Inducted into Higher Education Hall of Fame

Former University President Dr. David Bryant (left) joined with current President Dr. Tim Faltyn (right). —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Jack Strain

Jack Strain —Courtesy photo