Skip to main content
Skip menu links

Alpha Zeta Inducts New Members

Released by Panhandle State Campus Communications on 11/07/2017 Alpha Zeta members gather together following a special induction ceremony on October 16. —Courtesy photo Alpha Zeta members gather together following a special induction ceremony on October 16. —Courtesy photo

Goodwell, Okla. — Oklahoma Panhandle State University Alpha Zeta Chapter held a special Fall initiation of new inductees of October 16th at the Oklahoma Panhandle Research and Extension Center Meeting Room.

The new inductees included Ben Brady of Marcus, Iowa; John Barger of Pawnee, Okla.; Allison Jones of Johnson, Kan.; Philip Kirongo of Kenya; Kierra Smartt of McClave, Colo.; Sequoia Smith of Boyd, Texas; and Ashby Williams of Amarillo, Texas.

Alpha Zeta, an honorary Agriculture Fraternity, was founded on November 4, 1897 at The Ohio State University. The Panhandle State chapter is the Oklahoma Beta and is part of the national organization.

Brothers Burkett and Cunningham were roommates while studying in the College of Agriculture at The Ohio State. They realized the need for fellowship among students dedicated to the cause of agriculture.

At the time, agricultural education was of low standing at the University. Similarly, there was little regard for the few students enrolled in agriculture courses. Burkett and Cunningham wanted an organized way to promote agriculture openly and cooperatively and to gain respect for agriculture students.

It was three years between the first planning and the actual organization of the Fraternity. In June 1897, Brother Burkett and Brother Cunningham took the following oath, “The Fraternity of Alpha Zeta begins its work. Its spirit will be: To give, not to receive; to serve, not ourselves only, but the agricultural body, the whole cause of higher education, and in every way possible all people engaged in the profession of agriculture. May the Fraternity live forever.”

Current Panhandle State Officers include: Chancellor- Makenze Twyman; Censor- Tyler Meyers; Scribe- Kristin Allen; Treasurer- Kayla Hook; Chronicler- Hannah Hammack; Historian- Sidney Tigler; and Student Senate Representative -Jordyn Bannon.

The group is very active on campus and have done a number of projects including Foundation Scholarships Donations, Campus Clean-Up, supply donations to the wildfire calf rescuers, organized kickball tournaments for stress relief during final exam week, sponsored Ag Career Day each Fall, sponsored “So You Want to Be a Vet” education meeting with veterinarians, sponsored Dr. Temple Grandin as a Distinguished Guest Lecturer, sponsored snacks for students in the Science and Ag Building during finals week, sponsored movie nights, sponsored game nights, sponsored facial nights for members, supported former members when they had tragedy hit their families through fires, held baby showers for Ag students, and helped with School of Ag float for Homecoming.