Skip to main content
Skip menu links

WNFR Nears Midway Point

Submitted by Kashly Schweer on 12/11/2017

Las Vegas — For ten days, professional cowboys and cowgirls rally to multiply their seasonal earnings during the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (WNFR) under the bright lights of Las Vegas. With more than $26,000 up for grabs each night, these December days could be very lucrative for athletes who cash paychecks only when they win. Amongst those hitting the pay window are six Oklahoma Panhandle State University alumni.

After four rounds of action, Orin Larsen has collected three paychecks in the bareback riding. His highest-marked ride came during the opening night as he scored 86.50 points to place second. Aside of the wild ride when the rank pen of broncs hit the chutes, Larsen has been consistently in the mid-80 range. He is currently seventh in the aggregate.

In the saddle bronc riding, the WNFR rookies are proving they learned from the best in Goodwell and know how to spur the high caliber horses inside the Thomas and Mack. Hardy (Chad) Braden started his first WNFR with fireworks. His 87.50-point ride aboard HATitude Alpha dog earned Braden his first go-round buckle. He has collected two more checks and sits eighth in the average after suffering a no score in the second round.

Audy Reed continues to get stronger as the nights progress. After missing the top six money holes in the first round, he has collected every night since and sits comfortably at fourth place in the ever-important aggregate race.

Former PRCA World Champion Saddle Bronc Rider, Taos Muncy grabbed a piece of the pie in the second round and placed third in the third round to earn $15,653. The New Mexico native is sixth in the aggregate and will likely find his way to the buckle ceremony before the week is over.

Las Vegas hasn’t been the most hospitable to Clay Elliott, but the Canadian cowboy is sure to find his groove before the tenth round.

Mr. Consistency, Joe Frost, closes each night making Panhandle proud. The multiple-time WNFR qualifier has cashed checks in three of the four rounds of bull riding and sits third in the average. He is making his move up the world standings with that large aggregate check in site.

Rodeo action continues through Saturday, December 16. You can tune in on CBS Sports Network or through

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Cale Curry

Panhandle State Alumni Cale Curry was recently accepted into GUILDHALL at SMU in Plano, Texas. Curry earned a degree in Computer Information Systems (CIS) this past December from Panhandle State. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Panhandle State Earns Merit Certification as Certified Healthy Campus

Rene Ramon and Calandra Rose, both members of the Panhandle State Wellness Committee, accepted Panhandle State’s Certified Healthy Campus Award at an event on March 1 in Oklahoma City. —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Four Aggies Earn Spots on SAC All-Conference Rosters

Image Rotator

Alumni Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The 2018 Alumni Hall of Fame Honorees are Dr. David Bryant and Jim and Sherry Quimby. They will be inducted into the Alumni Ambassador Hall of Fame during the Alumni Weekend set for April 13-14.

Image Rotator

Panhandle State Sends Delegation to OSGA Spring Congress

Pictured left to right: Jack Hudgins, Thomas Casper, Madison Linton, Sean Skipton, Jasmine Brown-Jutras, Jorge Rosas, Autumn Wigley, and Mariah Morigeau —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Jewell Lee Receives SAC Recognition

Image Rotator

Strong Finish at Home-Hosted Crops Judging Contest

Members of the Panhandle State Crops Judging pause for a photo with faculty and administration members following the Regional Crops Judging Contest hosted in Goodwell. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Student Spotlight: Addison Munsch

Panhandle State Sophomore Addison Munsch

Image Rotator

PBL and AITP Host Perfect Pairings

Members of the campus organizations AITP and PBL along with their faculty advisors and President Dr. Tim Faltyn gather for a photo before the second annual Perfect Pairings hosted at the University House. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Student Spotlight: Colter Reust

Panhandle State Senior Colter Reust