Skip to main content
Skip menu links

Gaskamp Resigns

Released by Panhandle State Campus Communications on 12/03/2018

Goodwell, Okla. — Oklahoma Panhandle State University Head Football Coach, Russell Gaskamp, announced his resignation today. Gaskamp, Head Coach of the Aggie Football Team since 2012, is moving on to other opportunities after leading the Aggies to a 6-5 season and an appearance in the Sooner Athletic Conference championship game.

Athletic Director Meghan Mulcahy stated, "I appreciate everything that Russell has done for the OPSU campus and the community. He has taken the football team and turned into one of national recognition while supporting the local community. He will be greatly missed by the athletic department, and we wish him nothing but the best in the future."

Coach Gaskamp was instrumental in the Aggies transition to the NAIA, and posted a record of 7-3 in the Aggies first NAIA season in 2017. Coach Gaskamp’s record while at OPSU was 35-38 over seven years.

“Coach Gas has been a very important part of our team at Panhandle State,” said OPSU President, Dr. Tim Faltyn. “His leadership on and off the field is appreciated, and we wish him the best of luck in his future endeavors.”

Prior to his time at OPSU, Coach Gaskamp spent seven years coaching in the Lone Star Conference, including stops at Angelo State University, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Texas A&M University-Commerce, and Sam Houston State University.

“I believe he will have many more years of success as a football coach,” added Faltyn.

Gaskamp is a native of Weatherford, Oklahoma and a former center for the University of Texas Longhorns.

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Programming Team Wins Two National Championships

Back row (left to right): Jabrel Alexander, Sean Skipton, Jockson Bilbrey, Braxton Dain Hayden Ukens, Steve Martin.
Middle row (left to right): Cameron Branch, Jorge Rosas, Jeremy Norris, Stetson Elam, Gustavo Sanchez and Firas Ghazouani.
Front row (left to right): Tanner Daniel, Lelin Liu, Melody Ethley, Madilyn Rider, Amanda Blanton, Kim Tuttle.

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Chris Johnston

Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Tucker Named Dean of College of Ag, Science, and Nursing

Shawna Tucker —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

PBL Dominates at 2019 State Leadership Conference

PBL members pose for a photo Friday evening before the awards ceremony at SLC. Back row (left to right): Cameron Hammett, Aaron Hammett, Jorge Rosas, Cameron Branch, John Polston, Hayden Ukens, Firas Ghazhouani, Shalom Ngalaba. Front row (left to right): Jasmine Puebla, Jamie O’Gorman, Esmerelda Castro, Jerriena Davis, Lupita Jimenez, Amanda Blanton, Kaley Conner, Melody Ethley. — Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Faculty Spotlight: Matthew Carter

Matthew Carter —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Staff Spotlight: Dana Collins

Dana Collins —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Student Spotlight: Baris Ulker

Baris Ulker —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Kain Earns Honors at Crops Judging

The Panhandle State Crops Judging team placed fourth at a recent contest in Curtis, Neb. —Photo by Reagan Schlochtermeier

Image Rotator

SOEA Recognized as Outstanding Chapter

Panhandle State SOEA in outreach — Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

19th Annual Art Auction Sees Achievement

Image Rotator

When Deeds Speak Louder than Words

Coaches gather together during the event - Photo by Shambri Kelso

Image Rotator

Beau Peterson Making Breakaway History

Panhandle State's very own Beau Peterson is a part of the first ever Breakaway Roping event at The American in Arlington, Texas. —Photo by Whitney Thurmond Photography