SiteMap&Search AboutUs Contact

Press Release




Campus Communications
Laura Dahl, Director
P.O. Box 430, Goodwell, Oklahoma 73939
Phone: 580-349-1354 * Fax: 580-349-1350

Dr. Jay Lark, left, receives the Honored Agriculturist award from OPSU President Dave Bryant. - Campus Communications photo by Jeff Flanagan

**For Immediate Release**
Contest Winners and Dr. Jay Lark Celebrated
-released by OPSU Campus Communications 12-05-05
by Laura Dahl

Goodwell, OK - Every November, Oklahoma Panhandle State University hosts a regional Future Farmers of America (FFA) interscholastics contest for junior high and high school students. This year, approximately seven hundred students representing schools from Oklahoma, Kansas, Texas, Colorado, Wyoming, and Nebraska competed in 25 different contests ranging from public speaking to livestock judging.

During this year’s awards ceremony, Dr. Jay Lark was given the Honored Agriculturist award. Lark serves as OPSU’s professor of agriculture education and has dedicated the past 25 years to educating agriculture students, particularly those entering the teaching profession. The award recognizes him for his years of distinguished service for OPSU, the School of Agriculture, and higher education in Oklahoma.

The team from Stillwater, OK took the Sweepstakes award for garnering the most points overall. Following is a list of other first place winners and their hometowns:

Ag Business Valeria Carpenter Jenks, OK
Ag Policy Ashley Mason Jenks, OK
Animal Science Megan Landon Jenks, OK
Plant Science Jared Crain Fargo, OK
Natural Resources John Truitt Jenks, OK
Speech Off John Truitt Jenks, OK
FFA Creed Luke Wood Weatherford, OK
General Ag Audra Halliburton Laverne, OK
FFA Opportunities Mark Mason Ringwood, OK
Ag Explorer Jackson Alexander Anadarko, OK
Extemporaneous Speaking Terra Branson Jenks, OK
Interview Sierra Simpson Timberlake, OK
Quiz Bowl   Fort Supply, OK
  1st Place Team 1st Place Indiv. Hometown
Senior Livestock Chugwater, NE Dakota Gaff Timberlake, OK
9th Livestock Newkirk, OK Tawny Mills Hooker, OK
7th & 8th Livestock Stillwater, OK Juanito Martinez Laverne, OK
Crop ID

Newkirk, OK Tyler Evans Newkirk, OK
Dairy Laverne, OK Kalin Jenkins Stillwater, OK
Entomology Jenks, OK Terra Branson Jenks, OK
Farm Business Management Garden City, KS Jared Crain Fargo, OK
Farm Shop Elgin, OK Robert Huitt Elgin, OK
Floriculture Ulysses, KS Colby Spencer Ulysses, KS
Land Judging Guthrie, OK Chris Reid Guthrie, OK
Meats Eustis-Farnam, OK Freddy Montoya Satanta, KS
Nursery & Landscape Stillwater, OK Bailey Platt Stillwater, OK
Rangeland Karval, CO Abby Adams Karval, CO
Electricity Hooker, OK B. Huston Hooker, OK

OPSU would like to thank all the teams for making this year’s meet a great success, and we look forward to next year’s contest!




All Rights Reserved. Copyright Oklahoma Panhandle State University 2005
Developed by: Michal Stachowski
Oklahoma Panhandle State University
P.O. Box 430 Goodwell, OK 73939, tel: 580-349-2611
Toll free 800-664-OPSU, email