SiteMap&Search AboutUs Contact

Press Release




Campus Communications
Laura Dahl, Director
P.O. Box 430, Goodwell, Oklahoma 73939
Phone: 580-349-1354 * Fax: 580-349-1350


**For Immediate Release**
Results from City of Goodwell Golf Scramble
- released by OPSU Campus Communications 07-11-07
by Terry Hendrix

Goodwell, Okla. — The annual Goodwell Independence Day Golf Tournament was held July 4, 2007. The sunny Wednesday morning saw 38 eager golfers enter the scramble format tournament. At the end of regulation play, one team finished one under par for the winning score. Comprised of John DeSpain, Jerry Olson, Derrick Nye, Travis Wolf, and Tabitha Sandoval, the team each received $25 and the first pick for prizes donated by PTCI.

Three teams turned in even par scores that resulted in a sudden death play off for second and third place. On the first play on the #3 hole, all three teams parred the hole and play continued. On the second hole, one team entered a birdie, one team par, and the last team turned in a bogey, so that ended the competition.

The second place team members included Steve Brown, Bob Burgess, Derik Hamilton and Duke Arbuthnot. Each player earned $15 and selected from the remaining PTCI prizes.

The third place team was comprised of Terry Hendrix, Jerry martin, Carl Gibson, and Quentin Fankhouser. They each took home $10 and a PTCI gift.

John DeSpain won “Closest to the Pin” on #2 with a drive that finished 7’3" from the cup. He won a PTCI jacket. A “Closest to the Pin” contest was also held on #7, won by Nick Curry when his ball landed 17’ from the hole. He took home a leather notebook and travel mug from PTCI.

All proceeds from the tournament and other activities throughout the day benefit the Goodwell Ambulance Fund and members of the ambulance service would like to thank Edenborough and Edenborough, CPAs, David Long Enterprises, Tri-County Electric and TEL Oil and Gas for donating the prize money. In addition, they would like to thank OPSU for use of the newly improved golf course.


Winners of the annual Fourth of July Scrambles at OPSU Golf Course
Pictured above, from left, congratulations to John DeSpain, Jerry Olson, Derrick Nye, Travis Wolf, and Tabitha Sandoval for winning the Independence Day Golf Scramble! - photo by Terry Hendrix



All Rights Reserved. Copyright Oklahoma Panhandle State University 2005
Developed by: Michal Stachowski
Oklahoma Panhandle State University
P.O. Box 430 Goodwell, OK 73939, tel: 580-349-2611
Toll free 800-664-OPSU, email