SiteMap&Search AboutUs Contact

Press Release




Campus Communications
Laura Hays, Director
P.O. Box 430, Goodwell, Oklahoma 73939
Phone: 580-349-1354 * Fax: 580-349-1350

JUCO Livestock Judging Contest

Livestock judging combines visual and physical aptitude as well as excellent reasoning and speaking skills. These students are handling the sheep for degree of muscle tone and trimness. Following their selections, the students then defend their choices by reciting reasons. - Jeff Flanagan photo

**For Immediate Release**
Scholarships Awarded to Junior College Competitors
By Laura Hays
- released by OPSU Campus Communications 12-13-07

Goodwell, Okla. - Oklahoma Panhandle State University’s Livestock Judging Team recently hosted a judging contest for their junior college colleagues with 16 freshman teams and 11 sophomore teams and a total of 132 contestants competing. Students from five states evaluated 12 classes of cattle, sheep, and hogs, and then defended their placings on 8 classes for the sophomores and 6 classes for the freshmen. OPSU awarded nearly $10,000 in scholarships, 60 plaques, and one traveling trophy given to the Casper (Wyoming) College team for covering the most ground to get to OPSU. The contest required a large amount of support that included industry officials, OPSU Livestock Judging Team members as well as stock providers. Winners include:

  Freshman Individuals     Sophomore Individuals  
1 Marty Gifford Casper College 1 Becka Polomski Clarendon College
2 Caleb Crosswhite Clarendon College 2 Megan Merket South Plains College
3 Jett Eder Seward Co. Comm. College 3 Josh Zuck Casper College
4 Jaycee Snow Casper College 4 Kristen Halbert Frank Phillips College
5 Ross Wyatt Howard Comm. College 5 Sara McManus Seward Co. Comm. College
6 Corey Taylor Clarendon College 6 Calvin Schell Casper College
7 Megan Brumfield Casper College 8 Jessica Swan Seward Co. Comm. College
8 Nickelynn Bays South Plains College 8 Andrew Napoles South Plains College
9 Tandy Peterson Casper College 9 Melanie Hall Clarendon College
10 Blake Fleming South Plains College 10 Olivia Tilly South Plains College
  Freshman Teams     Sophomore Teams  
1 Casper College Red 1 South Plains College
2 Clarendon College Green 2 Casper College
3 South Plains College 3 Seward County Community College
4 Howard Community College 4 Frank Phillips College
5 Casper College White 5 Clarendon College

The contest required help from industry officials, OPSU Livestock Judging Team members, and area producers who provided the stock. Thanks to the OPSU Meats Lab for providing the meal at the awards banquet, and thanks to the following for their assistance and support:

  OPSU Livestock Judging Team Members
Sophomore Officials Freshman Officials
Merle Nicholson, Guymon Erin Hensley
Ernie Heitschmidt, Guymon Shane Nelson
Sandy Kolbe, Hardesty Danny Galbreath
Burt Williams, Spearman, TX Keith Frank
Kyle Stewart, Claude, TX Keith Adels
Emily Rowe, Ulysses, KS Nathan Hacker
Frank Swan, Johnson, KS  
Daren Stephens, Goodwell  
Stock Providers
OPSU School Farm Phil Light, Turpin
Swan Club Lambs, Johnson, KS Stedje Livestock, Gruver, TX
Weichman Pig Company, Guymon  
Brittany and Braelyn Beattie, Courtney Sheets, Jessica Lomax, and Haley Grice all of Texhoma.





All Rights Reserved. Copyright Oklahoma Panhandle State University 2005
Developed by: Michal Stachowski
Oklahoma Panhandle State University
P.O. Box 430 Goodwell, OK 73939, tel: 580-349-2611
Toll free 800-664-OPSU, email