SiteMap&Search AboutUs Contact

Press Release




Campus Communications
Laura Dahl, Director
P.O. Box 430, Goodwell, Oklahoma 73939
Phone: 580-349-1354 * Fax: 580-349-1350


**For Immediate Release**
Camfield Member of New State Research Committee
- released by OPSU Campus Communications 01-04-2007

Goodwell, Okla. - Oklahoma Panhandle State University’s Dean of Agriculture, Dr. Peter Camfield, has been named to a five-member committee that will oversee a new plant science research program. The Oklahoma Plant Sciences Research Advisory Committee, a part of the Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of Science and Technology (OCAST), addresses objectives of House Bill 2185, which was signed into law at the end of the 2006 legislative session.

The bill provides funds for Oklahoma scientists conducting research in plant sciences. State businesses, high learning institutions, and nonprofit organizations will be eligible to compete for OCAST plant sciences funding under a dollar-for-dollar match program. The three-year program has $300,000 each year to help fund plant science research.

Other members of the committee include Dr. Richard Dixon of the Noble Foundation, Ardmore; Dr. Ronald L. Elliott of Oklahoma State University, Stillwater; Rod Moesel, owner of American Plant Products and Services Inc. and Ray L. Wulf, Oklahoma Farmers Union, both of Oklahoma City.

For more information about the Oklahoma Plant Sciences Research program, visit the OCAST website at





All Rights Reserved. Copyright Oklahoma Panhandle State University 2005
Developed by: Michal Stachowski
Oklahoma Panhandle State University
P.O. Box 430 Goodwell, OK 73939, tel: 580-349-2611
Toll free 800-664-OPSU, email